Building History Detail
Sixth Street Parking Garage

A five story enclosed parking garage built of reinforced concrete and brick with space for 500 cars. The building had dimensions of 104x150 feet. It became iconic in the early 1960s with the huge Mrs. Karl's bread mural painted on the north face of the building.

Architect: Tullgren, Martin and Sons

Year Built: 1922, Year Demolished: 1966

Address History:
182-186 6th St (1922 - 1929)
732 N 6th St (1930 - 1966)

Milwaukee Journal, March 5, 1922
Milwaukee Journal, August 30, 1966

Record Update: 2009-04-06